In Summary

Golf. Mudungo had to be recalled to return the overall winner’s prize after a small calculation hitch-up


Entebbe Golf Club (EGC) continued to show that good organisation can win you more admirers when their par -71 challenging course attracted a record number of 260 golfers as the club’s own son Edwin Tabaro toasted to victory at the 19th JBG Open on October 8.

Tabaro, the club’s membership secretary, tallied 43 points, to win arguably his first major title by one shot since taking up the noble game of golf.

Such was the competition on the day, the organisers had previously awarded the overall winner’s gong to former EGC Artisan Tony Mudungo but was, soon after the awards ceremony, recalled to return the prize and settle for the Group B winners’ gong following his return of 42 points.

“He prepared well for this tournament,” club professional Dickson Lagoro said in regards to handicap 16 golfer Tabaro’s feat.
“He hadn’t won a lot previously. So he embarked a serious training regime in preparation for this one. I am happy for him. Hard work and practice pays.” Mudungo, despite settling for a smaller award, was defiant. “It would have been my first title,” said the 15-handicapper. “But I am happy the trophy stayed in Entebbe. I also played good golf and my aim is to play in more tournaments now.”

League of his own
Scratch golfer Aaron Mugumbula was in a league of his own scooping the gross category with a round of two-under-par 69 whereas David Kalindioa won the men Group A category after stroking 40 points.
Jinja-bred Fred Wanzala walked away with a fair share of the Shs15m professionals kitty after shooting five-over-par 218 in three suspense-filled golfing days.

The Seniors Category of 55+ year olds was notched Nyaga Ngari (33 points) and Nancy Muraya (32) whereas Jinja’s jewel Martha Babirye (39 points) was the pick of the ladies on the day.
Local heroine Irene Nakalembe (36) and Wendy Ango’deyo (35) were untouchable in the women’s Group A and Group B respectively.

Overall winners
M: Edwin Tabaro 43 points
W: Martha Babirye 39
Gross winner
Aaron Mugomola 69
Best professional
Fred Wanzala 218
*played 54 holes over three days
Group winners (men)
A: David Kalindioa 40 points
B: Tony Mudungo 42
C: Herbert Mwetemba 38
Group winners (ladies)
A: Irene Nakalembe 36 points
B: Wendy Ango’deyo 35
Best Seniors (55+)
Nyaga Ngari 33 points
Nancy Muraya 32