In Summary

Uganda Cup final. Erisa Sekisambu missed an early penalty but SC Villa recomposed and put KCC, missing suspended key players, to the sword at Namboole Stadium yesterday


Goals by Augustine Nsumba, Abdul-Karim Kasule and a late Yeseri Waibi freekick helped SC Villa to a 3-0 victory over rivals KCC and a first trophy since 2009 in the replay of the Uganda Cup final yesterday.

The game, moved to Namboole after the initial one aborted in Ntungamo 10 days ago, saw KCC, depleted by four suspensions, start strongly in front of a modest crowd at the 42,000-seater stadium. Forward Michael Birungi dispossessed Villa left back Isaac Muleme before flashing a shot wide of goal. Villa soon found their feet with Chrisestom Ntambi playing Victor Emenayo through in the 24th minute before KCC captain Ssaka Mpiima shoved the striker in the box.
Kenyan referee Andrew Juma Otieno, surprisingly flown in by the federation the previous day, pointed to the spot although the score remained goalless after Benjamin Ochan dived to his left to save from Erisa Sekisambu.

Six minutes later, KCC thought they had gone ahead after Paul Mucureezi’s header looped past goalkeeper Nicholas Sebwato only for defender Derrick Walulya to clear off the line.

It was Villa though that went ahead 60 seconds later after Nsumba flicked a header past Ochan from an in-swinging Isaac Muleme free-kick.

It was 2-0 eight minutes after the hour mark with substitute Abdul Karim Kasule cutting in from the right before his attempted pass fell back into his path. The midfielder’s low left footed effort found its way past Ochan as Villa fans, sensing victory, taunted their opposites about the previous game’s pitch invasion.

Another substitute Waibi made it three late on with a free-kick after KCC defender Timothy Awany was sent for a second bookable offence.
Waibi’s strike only added cherry to what had now become a one-sided game to crown a ninth Cup for Villa.

Best Player: Erisa Ssekisambu (SC Villa)
Top Scorer: Fred Kyambadde (The Saints) – 6 goals
Best Coach: Ibrahim Kirya (Villa)
Media (online): David Isabirye (Kawowo)
Media (print): Shafik Senoga (New Vision)
Media (TV): Fatia Nassali (NBS T.V)
Radio: Mayiga Jagenda (Bukedde Radio)